News: Apparently, I’m the last one to know…

Geez, you take the weekend off and suddenly, you’re out of the loop. Here are a few things that happened over the weekend that I didn’t even learn about until today:

1. CSO musicians strike. In a nutshell, the musicians at the Chicago Symphony Orchestra are upset because the new pay package being negotiated by the CSO actually is a net loss for them, given that the CSO wants musicians to pay more for their own health care.

Here is the press release put out by the CSO regarding the cancelled performance on Saturday night. Apparently another performance, this Wednesday, is in danger of also being cancelled unless things are settled. People are pretty angry, as noted in this article from the Sun-Times.

The CSO musicians can be found at this website, although I can’t seem to get in. Supposedly, there is a Facebook page, but I can’t find that either. Here, however, is an article from the Classical Review that explains a bit more of the musicians’ side. UPDATE 11:03 a.m.: I have received a press release that says negotiations have finally begun again!

2. Check, Please! Food Truck Fest. If I’d had any idea that was going on, you know I’d be there. I love food trucks! Here’s the info on the event I just missed. Poop.

3. Kane County Cougars sign development contract with the Chicago Cubs. Hey, that’s cool. The Cubs need all the help they can get. Starting April 4 of next year, the Cougars are a Class A Affiliate of the Cubs for the next two years. Click here to read  the obligatory love-fest that ensues between the Cubs and the Cougars.

A few things I actually do know:

1. The Ryder Cup is here this week from September 25-30. This golf tournament is a BIG deal, and chances are none of us will see it return to Chicagoland in our lifetimes. The economic impact on DuPage County, where it’s being held at the Medinah Country Club, is expected to be about $130 million. My magazine will be there!

2. The Shedd Aquarium’s naming contest for its Pacific white-sided dolphin is on! NBC 5 Chicago, Telemundo Chicago and the Chicago Sun-Times are teaming up in an online voting contest that began today. The five final choices are in the Tlinglit language: I picked Sagu, which means “joy,” because I know some lovely people named Joy. Here’s the link if you want to put in your two cents. Watch for info on dolphins and stories about the names on the media outlets listed above; also, classrooms from five local schools will represent the five names and try to persuade us one way or another. The final choice will be revealed live on NBC 5 News Today on Friday, October 12.

It would be silly of me, as just one person, to expect to know all the news happening in this big, vibrant city and its suburbs. Especially when I have a kid to schlep to soccer games, a houseguest, and a bunch of laundry to do. But it would also be silly of me not to remember what a great city I live near, and take advantage of what it has to offer whenever I get the chance. And now on to the rest of my Monday!

Leave a comment